• $13.50

Add to Wishlist

There’s no doubt that Presley Barker, an eleven-year-old guitarist from Traphill, North Carolina, has the technical part down pat.  Presley took first place in the guitar competition at the 2015 Galax Fiddlers Convention at the ripe old age of ten. Around the same time, Barker recorded this album, appropriately named Just Ten, featuring some of his favorite contest tunes and bluegrass standards. Joined by a full band including Steve Lewis (guitar and banjo), Scott Freeman (mandolin and fiddle), and Josh Scott (bass), Barker is given plenty of room to show off his knowledge of the guitar.

Three songs feature vocals – My Sweet Blue-Eyed DarlingSunny Side of the Mountain, and the hymn Just a Closer Walk with Thee – and Barker sings lead on each of them. These numbers are arranged more like regular, full-band performances, though Barker is still given the opportunity to highlight his guitar skills in a solo. 

Track Listing:

  • Alabama Jubilee
  • Black Mountain Rag
  • My Sweet Blue-Eyed Darlin'
  • Grey Eagle
  • Hangman's Reel
  • Nothing To It
  • Sunny Side of the Mountain
  • Lonesome Fiddle Blues
  • Steel Guitar Rag
  • Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • Bonus Track - Nashville Pickin'